The punishments for sex crimes in California are strict and often result in many years in prison and mandatory sex offender registration. How a sex crime is punished in Orange County depends on the crime, the age of the victim, any mandatory minimum sentencing that may apply, and any other pertinent facts of the case. If you’ve been charged with or accused of committing a sex crime, it is imperative that you contact a skilled California sex crimes defense attorney as quickly as possible.
Sexual Exploitation of a Child (Child Pornography)
The sexual exploitation of a child is charged when any individual is caught developing, trading, posting, printing or exchanging any image or data that depicts any children under the age of 18 engaging in sexual acts of any kind. For a first offense, this charge is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 1 year in prison and $2,000 in fines. However, for subsequent offenses, the charge becomes a felony and can result in a year or more of incarceration. For either charge, lifetime sex offender registration is mandatory.
If you are charged with prostitution or the solicitation of prostitution in California, you could be charged with a misdemeanor if it is your first offense. However, individuals with any prior convictions on their record are required to be sentenced to no less than 45 days of incarceration. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the alleged crime, you may also have to register as a sex offender.
Statutory rape is one of the more commonly charged sex crimes in California, and it can seriously damage your reputation and compromise your future. Even if the victim (who must be under the age of 18) consented to sexual activity, the perpetrator of the crime can still be punished. How the crime is sentenced depends on the age of the victim in relation to the age of the perpetrator. Perpetrators who are less than 3 years older than the victim will generally be charged with a misdemeanor, while larger age gaps can result in a felony charge.
Rape is taken seriously in Orange County and is punishable by 15 years to life in prison.
Sex Crimes Against Children
Many sex crimes against children, including lewd and lascivious conduct with a child under the age of 14 and the continued sexual abuse of a child, are automatically charged as felonies and punishable by 15 years to life in prison.
Contact a California Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer Now
Simply put, if you are suspected of committing a sex crime or have been formally charged with a sex crime, you must act quickly. Contact a seasoned Orange County sex crimes attorney as soon as possible to begin forming a strategy for your defense. At the Law Offices of Joshua P. Visco, we have the skills and expertise to provide you with a zealous, unrelenting defense that elicits the best possible result in your case. Call now for a consultation at (714) 242-1223 or (855) 4JPV-LAW.